CME, G1-G3 storm predicted

MinYoongi

@Orneno @Vancanneyt Sander @Marcel de Bont what do you guys say to this? ive only seen kp2 predicted and not 8 or 9. 

https://kauai.ccmc.gsfc.nasa.gov/CMEscoreboard/

I have to add, in the CME Scoreboard/Nasa Prediction it says : A Stereo-Ahead coronagraph data gap at this time increases the uncertainty of the analysis. While the halo is fast, it is visually diffuse and thus any Kp predicted by the simulation may be higher than is merited for this case.

noaa just updated and sticks with G2 or highest G3. but G2 most likely.

so i think they know the model is most likely wrong? the CME was really, really faint.. does not pack such a punch in my opinion

Edited by Orneno

Just now, Orneno said:

That’s preposterous. It may be fast but it’s so faint it’s practically invisible. G2 or maaaybe G3 at best is my gut instinct (granted, I’m not an expert)

Yeah, like i said as a note to the prediction it even says "While the halo is fast, it is visually diffuse and thus any Kp predicted by the simulation may be higher than is merited for this case."

Also many experts on twitter doubt the model. Noaa just published their daily update (22UTC) and go with G2 or G3 at most, and issued a G2 warning for the 23rd. Same with Met Office. so you think no Kp9 ?

G2 to G3 is certainly possible since we will have a combined effect of ongoing HSS and prior CME passages. Beyond that... is a huge stretch. If it were a much denser CME, then perhaps.

One other thing I'd like to point out, a KP 8 or 9 event does not really mean anything "dangerous". We've encountered these events many times and have been completely fine. It would really take something so much bigger to cause any harm. And this CME will fall waaaay short of anything bad. At most, some brilliant auroras may be in the offing!

• Like 3

1 hour ago, Bedreamon said:

That's the only model predicting Kp8-9, according to the CME scoreboard: https://kauai.ccmc.gsfc.nasa.gov/CMEscoreboard/