Region 3031

MinYoongi

1 hour ago, Yak said:

I mean what is the difference between all the configurations, I don't really know how to interpret that data

If you will pardon the following analogy, perhaps this can help. (not a complete picture)

The red colors are positive charges, or like crests of a wave, and blue is negative, like dips of a wave. There is turbulence and currents, just like an ocean, and their vortexes and whirlpools create friction and tension, like the crashing of waves on a rocky cliff. However instead of water, its plasma and heat and electrons caught in loops. 

Electrons caught in loops will release their energy through radios waves, and when the friction and tension become too much (like a volcano) the energy is released through solar flares, X-rays, CMEs, and high energy protons. The positive and negative spots are the loops, coming up and going down into the Sun's convection zone. 

This is how I understand it, but I'm not an expert or scientist. Also, welcome to the forum!

Edited by Archmonoth
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

59 minutes ago, Yak said:

I mean what is the difference between all the configurations, I don't really know how to interpret that data

There is a good explanation in the help section of SWL on their home page top RHS.

1 hour ago, MinYoongi said:

Just came here to say this. But a Region on the SW limb flared too, looked bright too.. i still think 3031 was the main cause :) 
Eruptive?

Good call Min. It was 3031 and very eruptive, straight up and down virtually. 

N.

Edit: Haha impulsive,  not eruptive also good call :) Min.

Edited by Newbie
Boo boo
  • Like 1
  • Cool 1

20 minutes ago, Newbie said:

There is a good explanation in the help section of SWL on their home page top RHS.

Good call Min. It was 3031 and very eruptive, straight up and down virtually. 

N.

very eruptive? is there already any coronagraph imagery? Earth directed? 🤞

or did u mean impulsive? :D 

• Haha 1

7 minutes ago, MinYoongi said: