Attitudes towards space weather in (social) media vs. aurora enthusiasm

Montecore
Go to solution Solved by Sam Warfel,

I'm kind of new to space weather. I have never personally witnessed an aurora (I'm at 52 latitude) but my dad once managed to capture one by setting his camera to a long exposure time.

The general sentiment on forums like these when flares and CMEs happen seems to be enthusiasm about auroras, the pretty pictures, the radio signals, and all that.

However, whenever these events get covered in mainstream and social media, there's always so much focus on the dangers. That large-scale blackouts can happen, transformers will melt, the electrical grid will fry, even that we'll be set back to pre-industrial times and all that. A lot of doom-mongering that I should realistically dismiss as sensationalist nonsense.

And yet...

I want to be in awe of the auroras, I want to know if I'll be able to see them, and when to look, so I try to keep up. But with CMEs about to impact earth, solar particles being flung towards us and all that, all this talk in the media has me anxious. And today is no different. I even begin to wonder, should I unplug my devices before CMEs hit? (just in case!) I can't help but letting it affect me.

Y'all seem to be pretty laid back about it, you just want to experience cool auroras, and I can really appreciate that.

How do you reconcile your enthusiasm for auroras with sensationalist discourse in (social) media? Does it annoy you a lot, do you correct people about it, or do you just roll your eyes and move on, do you completely ignore it? And any advice for someone who just wants to enjoy space weather?

Edited by Montecore

• Solution

That sensationalism is primarily fear-mongering, harnessing fear to get engagement for their profit.  It is seldom fact-based.  The scientists who study this don't spread this sensationalism, and neither do we.