Powerful CME

This is just wow, any chance of this CME causing issues?  and is it just me or is this CME Plasma like a good 10-20%- 40%+ as large as the sun somehow? I am sure this has to be some sort of optical illusion right?

Yr4Ax6F.png

Thanks for everyone's time

Edited by Sam Warfel
  • Cool 2

There were several limb eruptions making it extra bright. Though with it being on the the limb there is no chance for an L1 arrival. It has a nice looking eruption in solar imagery, but in no way did it result in a high end, or possibly not even a moderate CME.

And pretty much all CMEs become larger than the Sun in a relatively short amount of time

• Like 1

Limb CMEs always look the most impressive because they have the perfect high contrast backdrop. I'm no expert, but in the time I've been following space weather I've learned the three things you're looking for on CMEs are direction, amount and density of material ejected, and speed. Those three things + solar wind + BZ orientation of the IMF at time of arrival determine how much geomagnetic impact you're going to get.

The way you generally determine direction is by looking at the halo effect of a CME. When the "cloud" of ejecta appears to spread out in all directions around the sun's disk that is said to be full-halo and is a good indicator of a likely bulk-hit. (note that far-side CMEs can also appear to be full-halo while actually moving away so you have to identify the Earth-facing event that caused the CME)

Amount and density is a bit more involved. coronal dimming via various wavelength observations is one way to determine density although there are several other methods used in conjunction with one another.