Red Auroras

Captain Jiffy

Hey, all.

I'm relatively new to space weather. I must admit what got me noticing space weather was a certain fear mongering YouTube channel with a sizable following. I've since unsubscribed after seeing a few debunkings on the electric universe theory and also just noticing how culty the channel felt. But I can't help but wonder if he has a point about the earth's magnetic field weakening (in the same way a broken clock can be right). I remember reading an article in 2022 about how rare red auroras are and the last one, before this solar cycle, was due to the Halloween Storm of 2003, but now there have been about five instances of red auroras being seen pretty far south and without a major solar storm. Are red auroras more common than I was lead to believe or is our modern world facing some potentially serious issues? I would love to hear your feedback!

• Like 1

I second what Sander says. The magnetic field is losing strength but it won't cause an apocalypse anytime soon. There have been a lot of fear mongering the last couple of days, especially on TikTok and Youtube. It's very important to be critical and to do your own research, like you did by posting a question here.

If you want to read about the weakening of Earth's magnetic field there are several articles out there that talks about the subject. This article from ESA has some good information but it's from 2020: https://www.esa.int/Applications/Observing_the_Earth/FutureEO/Swarm/Swarm_probes_weakening_of_Earth_s_magnetic_field?fbclid=IwAR0FgT2liv14LfioHyFu__z2hm78UwUuBOsAVxuY9H1Z41BNt92Wa6_6Ngo

I would like to add to @Vancanneyt Sander comment that there is something called SAR (stable auroral red) arcs which were visible on sunday. These arcs mainly appear in middle latitudes during big geomagnetic storms and are bright red. This paper has a lot of good information about SAR arcs: https://agupubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1029/2019JA027321

Edited by arjemma