Real-time Whistler Wave data

davlovsky

I am wondering if anyone here knows if there's a place to get real-time whistler wave data? I did my Masters thesis three years ago measuring the magnetospheric plasma density using whistler waves, but all the data I had access to was older data from the Palmer Station in Antarctica. I no longer keep in touch with any of my professors or anything, so was just wondering if anyone here know if there are any online sources that provide this spectrogram data (example) to the public?

Are you possibly referring to those waves generated by lightning on our sphere?  If not I cannot help ya, sorry. 

Excuse me, oblate spheroid. I stand reeducated, by Sam. 🤣🤣

3 minutes ago, hamateur 1953 said:

Are you possibly referring to those waves generated by lightning on our sphere?  If not I cannot help ya, sorry.  

Edited by hamateur 1953
humor

17 hours ago, hamateur 1953 said:

Excuse me, oblate spheroid. I stand reeducated, by Sam. 🤣🤣

Yeah, lightning-induced where the EM impulse travels along the Earth’s magnetic field lines from one hemisphere to the other, undergoing dispersion of several kHz due to the slower velocity of the lower frequencies through the plasma environments of the ionosphere and magnetosphere. My thesis was using whistler data and the Tarcsai algorithm in order to measure plasma density in the ionosphere and magnetosphere. The end result were 2D heatmaps. I wanted to revisit this and if I can find a reliable source of data, start a website that would recreate these heatmaps, possibly in real-time. It's somewhat computationally-intensive, but with proper programming/hardware (parallelization and GPU utilization), it might be possible to streamline the entire process.

• Like 2