CMEs and geomagnetic storming ×

Physiological reactions to solar activity

ShanMarie

I am not a scientist. Not even close. I am trying to teach myself what all the different solar activity is but can't say I have gotten far. What peaked my interest is that I seem to have very strong reactions in my nervous system when the sun is active (someone pointed this out to me because I was at a loss). My experiences are pretty close to debilitating. I will refrain from describing the symptoms until I see if others know of this phenomenon.

• Like 2

Others do know of that phenomenon - or at least have claimed to be sensitive in that way.

The usual response from people with some scientific training is either a mild, "That seems unlikely,*" or a vicious, "You're ignorant and neurotic!"

Most comments on this site will be variations on those two themes. Occasionally, there will be links to more or less reliable reports of genuine investigations.

If you really do not know ANY basic scientific facts, you will not get far in your search for 'answers.'  Perhaps it would be better to first revise High School science?

However, many modern High School textbooks are unreliable, at least in part. They contain many "Just So!" stories (Rudyard Kipling), and hand-waving when there should be frank admissions, "This is a subtle issue and perhaps we do not really understand it."