strongest possible geomagnetic storm - writing a paper

dregmas

Hey 😄,

I´m the new one in this forum ^^. 
I´ve been very interested in space weather since 2016. In the first years it was just a side interest, but since 2021 it has become kind of a keen passion. 

I was able to, at least, see Aurora here in Germany for two times. 

Although I am still a beginner when it comes to understanding the physics behind solar storms etc, I am trying to write a short “ scientific paper” (not for publishing ofc) about what the strongest possible geomagnetic storm could look like and what the consequences for the earth would be.  

Not to initiate some panic, I just want to give a realistic view on very, very unlikely events. 
I also want to do some research about the Geomagnetic reversal and its theoretical influence on the strength of geomagnetic storms. 

I found the following paper, which I still struggle to understand, but I think it really fits well to my work.  

Do you know what is meant by “saturation limit” (Dst = 2500nT)? 

What do you think?

Do you have some tips or recommendations for me (literature etc.)? 

I would very much appreciate your help 😊. 

cs :),

Marcus 

Edited by dregmas

I find it odd how these science articles only really talk about the issues in regards to electricity, GPS, et cetera without acknowledging the far, far bigger consequences. Not getting into that since I know it'll veer the thread off-course, so I'll just say I wanna be out when that happens.

But enough about that. I hope you do well in your research, Marcus. 🙂 Research being done in... well, any scientific field is always a good thing!

Edited by Bedreamon
  • Like 1

First of all,
Thank you for your answers!!

On 5/15/2022 at 2:18 AM, Vancanneyt Sander said:

Dst is the disturbance storm index, the stronger negative nanoTeslas, the stronger the geomagnetic storm. More info about this index and what it means can be found here: https://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/stp/geomag/dst.html