Solar Xray Pattern precedes strong X class flares

Aetherwizard

I have been observing solar data as a hobby since the late 1990s. One of the patterns I have observed that precedes a major X class flare is an extended bell curve in the solar x-ray data. Often, a single bell curve will precede an X class flare, but today there are three cumulative bell curves. Not all bell curves lead to an X class flare, but often they do.

It would seem that there are massive magnetic structures building up on the Sun at this time, which lead to these bell curves in solar x-ray output. With the recent far side activity taking place, this is worth watching closely.

SolarXray15Apr22.png

Welcome to the Forum, Aetherwizard!

Can you maybe explain your thesis a bit better? 

If i understand it right:

A long buildup leads to an X-Class Flare?

Those Flares are actually most likely already X-Class Flares just not picked up fully due to the Sourceregion being behind the Limb.

1 uur geleden, Aetherwizard zei:

I have been observing solar data as a hobby since the late 1990s. One of the patterns I have observed that precedes a major X class flare is an extended bell curve in the solar x-ray data. Often, a single bell curve will precede an X class flare, but today there are three cumulative bell curves. Not all bell curves lead to an X class flare, but often they do.

It would seem that there are massive magnetic structures building up on the Sun at this time, which lead to these bell curves in solar x-ray output. With the recent far side activity taking place, this is worth watching closely.

SolarXray15Apr22.png

Can you give examples from the past? Maybe a small file… if true, this can be published

2 hours ago, Aetherwizard said:

SolarXray15Apr22.png

also what do you mean by a "bell curve"