Mechanics of the recent uptick in solar flares

Deon Bakkes

Hey everyone! I'm new here and I have a question regarding a personal hypothesis about the mechanics of the recent uptick in solar flares. I'm an evolutionary biologist by training and so I enjoy big picture macro-process thinking, but please do correct me if I'm wrong in my thinking regarding solar flares here.

Given the recent increase in solar flares which is outpacing official predictions (see screenshot), is it possible that over the last 2 or more cycles, which seem to have been getting 'weaker', that some residual tangles in magnetic fields have remained between cycles, by virtue of them being smaller and hence not being stressed enough to flare in the previous cycles? If so, is it possible that these small tangles have essentially 'built up' over a number of cycles leading to a greater 'load' of tensed magnetic fields today? I'm thinking of an analogy along the lines of forest fires in the fynbos (shrubland) of South Africa that only happen roughly every 10 years. But when it does finally burn, there has been so much organic matter which has built up that it really burns! I imagine that models for solar activity might not be able to account for such a subtle build up of residual tension? Hence, the possibility for the deviation shown in the screenshot.

Or alternatively, does the end of a cycle completely clear any tension in solar magnetic fields, forcing a total reset of tension in the magnetic fields between cycles? Which would mean the greater-than-expected activity we're seeing now, would be due to some other factor besides slow accumulation of residual tangles in magnetic fields?

Either way, I'm looking forward to following this fascinating phenomena.

Thanks!

IMG-20220328-WA0002.jpg

I moved your post to its own separate topic.