Making Predictions Better

SpaceWhiskey

The question for this topic is: What do we need to make more accurate predictions?

I have also noticed predictions have been pretty poor lately. However I think it's easy to appreciate the difficulty in predicting space weather considering the complexities. However as a scientist, my first thought is let's fix it!

So what do we need?

I am no expert, rather a novice, and my generalized novice hypothesis is that adding more satellites (like DSCOVR) with some pimped out instrumentation, will help us understand how space weather travels (because we CLEARLY need it), and thus give us better predictions.

What's your (or your favorite) hypothesis? Think about what we need, and don't worry about if your wish list is not possible at this time. What instrumentation shall we put on each satellite and how many shall we need? Where do we place them? Again don't worry about how much that will cost, and whos hand will place them there, the question is, what do we need, not yet how do we get it there.

Now that we know what we need, we can solve the next question, how we get it there. I'm sure people thought we would never get DSCOVR looking at space weather, so I wouldn't get too hung up on the feasibility of having more of them.

Cheers!

8 hours ago, SpaceWhiskey said:

I have also noticed predictions have been pretty poor lately. However I think it's easy to appreciate the difficulty in predicting space weather considering the complexities. However as a scientist, my first thought is let's fix it!

Well, what would you consider good prediction? 

I am no expert, rather a novice, and my generalized novice hypothesis is that adding more satellites (like DSCOVR) with some pimped out instrumentation, will help us understand how space weather travels (because we CLEARLY need it), and thus give us better predictions.

There are some new tools heading to space:

LISA - Laser Interferometer Space Antenna -NASA Home Page Scheduled for 2034