What does such an anomaly imply? And what might've caused it?

Aryan Singh

It has stabilized now but I want to be able to understand. I am new to Space Weather; barely two-weeks since first exploring it. Geomagnetism is still something counterintuitive for me to grasp. Earlier this evening (Eastern Standard Time), I was just giddily checking space weather updates on my phone and on the magnetometers graphs page, specifically the one displaying the Magnetometer readings for the ground magnetometer at Kiruna, Sweden showed a mild -401 nT deflection equating to a G2 Geomagnetic Storm with a kp-index of 6. I am sure such occurrences happen often given that simply having metal near a magnetometer can fluctuate the readings, but I just want to understand. 

Screen Shot 2021-11-21 at 11.51.08 PM.png

It has stabilized now but I want to be able to understand. I am new to Space Weather; barely two-weeks since first exploring it. Geomagnetism is still something counterintuitive for me to grasp. Earlier this evening (Eastern Standard Time), I was just giddily checking space weather updates on my phone and on the magnetometers graphs page, specifically the one displaying the Magnetometer readings for the ground magnetometer at Kiruna, Sweden showed a mild -401 nT deflection equating to a G2 Geomagnetic Storm with a kp-index of 6. I am sure such occurrences happen often given that simply having metal near a magnetometer can fluctuate the readings, but I just want to understand.