Interpreting real-time space weather data conditions for solar phenomena

astra

hello! I'm interested in looking at raw data and coming up with conclusions for different solar phenomena but I'm a total beginner.

I'm specifically interested in the aurora & CME - is it possible to deduct these only with the numbers in real-time?

So for example, if the solar wind speed is > 600km/s AND bz is < -6 AND the solar wind density is > 15 p/cm3, then the aurora will be visible? Or is it simpler than this?

With the CME, is this totally dependent on the solar flare activity or is there something else I could be looking at?

Thank you :)

It’s actually a lot more difficult than you are currently sketching…

First, because you’re new, you’ll have to learn the basics first so you can understand all solar and geomagnetic phenomenon before getting into the data. Once you’ve learned the basics, it’s easier to interpret the data. A good start is to read all articles in our help section on the app and site.

Second, to know what conditions might be good to have aurorae, it’s also important for what location you want to know it. With a solar wind speed of 400km/sec and Bz slightly southward there is likely already Aurora at high latitude locations. If you’re in a lower middle latitude location it would need a lot more.

Third, solar wind data and IMF data are good to know before heading out. They give you up to an hour in advance the conditions, so if Bz is southward for a prolonged period the odds of storm initiation is higher. But to really know the odds for your location, look for a magnetometer station nearby as those are the best way to see if you can run outside to see the Aurora or not. 

• Like 2

Thanks so much for your reply :)

It's more that I'm interested in the specific data that has to combine in order to form these phenomena, not so much the local conditions so I can see the aurora myself.