Aurora scatter?

farm24

Posted (edited)

Yap, here. Yesterday was good SSB activity in EU with strong 59A signals. I forgot my mic at home, so no aurora QSO. I'm a phone operator.

Why don't you give SSB a try? The trick is to speak clear and slooowly.

Ahoi

Pom

Edited by Pom

I have made a lot of CW contacts via Aurora, from The Netherlands. Contacts were made on 144 MHz.

The aurora came far south so via reflection it was possible to contact Italy, Hungary, Slovenia and Romenia, and of course a lot of countrries noth of those.

There is a lot of doppler, causing spread of the CW, so a pure tone sounds like a hiss.

Henk

Posted (edited)

It's time to give something back. Thank you for running SWL.com and thank you to all members of the community for sharing their knowledge!
This report is hopefully of interest to non-ham SW enthusiats. If I "talk too much RF" (radio frequency) let me know and I will be glad to provide details for non-hams.

Sorry for this post being huge and containing no pictures. I would have loved to post pictures of the aurora and my station setup, but the forum wouldn't let me. 200 kB per file 😵 are you serious? Worse, it's not even 200 kB. I rendered one pic down to 135 kB and it still wasn't accepted. 🫢